Regular and punctual attendance is important to your child’s success. The Renton School District policy allows up to 48 hours after a student has returned from an absence to excuse the absence. An absence cannot be excused after this 48 hour period and will remain on your child’s record as an unexcused absence.
When absences or late arrivals are necessary:
Please call the school office before 9:25 am at 425-204-4510 or email firstname.lastname@example.org stating your student’s name, spelling the last name, teacher name, and the reason for the absence. If we do not receive a morning call, an attempt will be made to reach you and verify the child’s whereabouts. The verification call is for your child’s protection.
Students who arrive after 8:55 am must report to the office for attendance verification. Parents must accompany your child to the office and sign them in. Students will receive a pass and may go directly to class.
Parents are asked to contact our school nurse and/or provide a physician’s written verification if their student is absent five or more days due to illness.
When a student is tardy more than three days per trimester, parent/guardian will work with teacher and administrator to develop a plan to help their child meet the expectation of on-time arrival. A copy of the plan will be maintained by the teacher and the teacher will closely monitor the student’s tardies. Teacher will notify attendance staff and administrator if tardies persist.
Pre-arranged Absences Policy
A Pre-arranged Absence Form must be completed by the parent/guardian and signed by the Principal at least a week prior to any student’s extended absence. If you know that a student and family has an upcoming absence, please refer them to the office to complete a Pre-arranged Absence Permission form to be signed by the parent, teacher and administrator.
Please be aware that there are state guidelines for excusable absences. We are only able to excuse the following absences:
Illness or health condition
Legal appointment or court appearance
Funeral for a family member
Activity mutually agreed upon between principal and parent
If your child has 10 total absences (excused or unexcused), a meeting will be scheduled with the school administration
Students are expected to complete critical missed work as determined by teacher upon return to school when absent. The teacher will provide a list of make-up assignments following the student’s return, along with a reasonable timeline for completion. The student is responsible for completing missed work.
Teachers will not be providing student work prior to pre-arranged absences. The value of instructional and collaborative time occurs during the school day cannot be replicated or fully made up later. However teachers, will provide some opportunities for students to learn missed concepts.
In Washington State, it is the law that all children between the ages of 6 and 18 must attend school unless they attend a private school, are home schooled, have graduated, or acquired a GED. *
Washington’s truancy law, often termed “the BECCA Bill” is intended to stop truancy before it becomes a problem. The law requires only one thing of students: Attend school. If a student does not attend school, the law requires the school district to take action.
One (1) or Two (2) Unexcused Absences:
After a single unexcused absence the school must contact the parents. This is generally done by a phone call or letter. After the second absence the school is required to schedule a conference with the parent and student to discuss solutions to the truancy problem.
Five (5) Unexcused Absences:
After five (5) unexcused absences in a month, the school may take stronger steps to end the truancy problem. The school may file a petition with the King County Superior Court, enter into a written truancy agreement (Stipulated Agreement) with the family, or take other reasonable action.
Seven (7) and Ten (10) unexcused absences:
Court action is required when a student has seven (7) absences in a month or ten (10) in a year. The truancy law requires that the school district files a petition in Superior Court against the student, parent, or both. After a petition is filed several things may happen with a student’s case. Depending on the circumstances of each individual case, a student’s petition may not be immediately heard in Juvenile Court.
Parents may contact the district’s Attendance Liaison, Marsha Linn at 425-204-2359 for further information.